Doubting About Churches...

Hello, everyone!
It is my first time here...didn't know -exactly- where to post, but I guess the youth related section will do it (I'm still young, after all!).
So. What's the matter?
While -I AM- Christian and all, it's a few years I don't frequent churches.
Minus, of course, extraordinaire cases (A friend's father funeral, for one.).
And honestly, I don't feel particularly guilty. But before you misjudge my choice, I will tell you of an episode wich opened my eyes...
It happened...7? 6 years ago, maybe. We were exiting from a funeral...
I remember there was a man near the graveyard's entrance.
That man had lost an arm... was a Filipino, and was begging for FOOD. Not even money...FOOD.
Now, what had shocked me is that no one, not even the PRIEST had even given him a GLANCE.
Like, he was not even there. Only my father listened and helped him.

Now, I live in a small town, in a region wich, in general, is still a bit conservative towards strangers (North Italy). But still. That man was a PERSON. His same fate could happen to any of us, anytime.
Those people, my fellow countrymen, had just listened to words of the Bible, of how we must help those in need... yet had done NOTHING.
And thus, I was led to think... what's the point of a church?
To act as a place of spiritual communion, was my immediate answer.
For everyone to hear the words of the Bible and try to make the world a better place...
But since that day, I opened my eyes. The church was full of hypocrisy.
The same people who, outside, were praising the Lord here and there, smiling and all, in their houses could turn out to be... not-so-nice people, with some inclinations towards racism.