Hi Folks, Newbie Here <<<

Is it better to love God, or fear God?

• Total voters
Greetings fellow crusaders for christ!

I've never been apart of a christian forum before, but this seemed like a great place to chat with other christians and exchange wisdom about the Lord! I have a lot of thoughts swirling around my head, and could use some like-minded people to bounce them off of. I hope I don't sound flippant, but I am looking forward to getting to know ya'll! I recently returned to active participation at my local church, but I wanted to talk about faith more than once a week for an hour if you know what I mean. I hope this is the beginning of a special relationship.

Howdy brother! Welcome to CFS. Church is good once a week but why wait. Come here as much as you like and we can all chat faith and learn together. Please don't hesitate to ask any questions. We are here to help. God Bless you.

Chili out.

Please define "fear" in your poll: thanks.

That's a good question. Hard to define without using the word "fear", at least for me. I think what I mean by "fear God" is being wary of the consequences for breaking his commandments. The reason I created the poll is because in many places in the Bible it says to fear God, but it also says to love God. It also says there is no fear in love. John 4:18, There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. This is puzzling to me, and I am trying to resolve this discrepancy. Maybe in fear they are implying a certain kind of humility in our relation with God, to recognize how small we are and only by his infinite mercy do we exist at all. Perhaps there are subtleties that don't come across in a translation from hebrew. Anyhow, I haven't been totally satisfied with my answers maybe you have some thoughts on it.