Shyness

Proverbs 29:25

:bow:

When I was in high school, I was like that...I was so shy it hurt just to walk from class to class between bells. When I graduated, I was forced to take a job at a local radio station. I became a popular deejay and somehow my shyness melted away and I became arrogant, boisterous, loud, proud.

I'm trying to learn to humble myself again, so many years later. Trust in God, my friend...He'll protect you from the fear of human opinion.

God bless.

Thanks for this ..I meditated on that scripture you gave. Proverbs 29:25 and it really helped.. helped me get up and go Church service today..

How did you find the change process.. I'm so used to being shy.. thats all I know.. the thought of being centre in anything seems so far fetched.. I'm excited at the thought of not being shy any more..

BUt I know nothing's impossible for God..

When you think back can you remember your shy day's.. Did you find that people who always knew you as quiet would not except you loud..??

Thanks.. sorry so many questions..

Back when I was painfully shy, I attended a journalism/broadcasting summer camp at both Washington State University and BYU. One of the instructors noticed that I was shy and pulled me aside before I went on the air (radio) and told me that nobody out there could see me. They could all hear me, but they didn't look at me and couldn't judge me...and that cracked my shell.

I started feeling like I was just like everybody else - my opinion mattered and I had the ultimate right to share that opinion with anybody (over the radio at first, and then gradually in person). I started forcing myself to stand up and speak out because I had just as much right to speak out as so-and-so. I pounded this into my head day and night, and somewhere along the line I made the dreadful mistake of believing that I had more right to say things than other people, because of my local celebrity status.