Three Types of Sermons

crossnote

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Senior Moderator
1. Topical…Where the speaker picks a topic and finds all the related verses to that topic.
2. Expository… where the speaker goes through a book of the Bible verse by verse explaining each verse, hopefully using a grammatical/historical approach.
3. Cross centered preaching…Using the central theme of Scripture, tying all of Scripture together and joining it at the cross (like spokes on a wheel), pointing to man’s greatest need.

Hello crossnote;

When I studied Biblical Preaching it still took years to develop the flow of delivering the message. The author was Haddon W. Robinson and in the text he mentions how many young or starting preachers naturally go off topic from Scripture and the historical with topical preaching.

In his book, with expository preaching it requires a deep study because many young or starting preachers can lack the interpretation of the context of a Scripture series.

Whether the preacher has the spiritual gift to preach or not, the discipline still has to be applied in delivering the message and this takes years. Personal discipleship with Christ, spiritual maturity and gained knowledge of the Word is an ongoing lifetime process.

I just learned of cross centered preaching in your thread and never heard of it before. This is good to know and will do some personal research.
God bless you, crossnote, and thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas.

Hello crossnote;

When I studied Biblical Preaching it still took years to develop the flow of delivering the flow of the message. The author was Haddon W. Robinson and in the text he mentions how many young or starting preachers naturally go off topic from Scripture and the historical with topical preaching.

In his book, with expository preaching it requires a deep study because many young or starting preachers can lack the interpretation of the context of a Scripture series.