How To Show More Interest In My Child

I feel like an old old old person when I observe my children watching TV or talking to their friends. Sometimes it sounds like they are speaking a different language. I'm not "down" with the slang and I don't watch MTV among other things my kids to and this makes me feel disconnected from them. I yearn to be closer to them but when I try they sort of just.. push me away. Does anyone have any advice on how I can show my interested in my kids?

How old are your kids? You mentioned one son in another thread who was 6, what are the ages and gender of the other kids?
You don't have to be "down with" the current slang or be up on all the current trends (although that does help) to connect with your kids. Take an interest in what interests them. When they see that you care about what they care about, they are more likely to share their thoughts and feelings. I'm no expert in child or adolescent psychology, but people in general tend to open up when they see that someone is genuinely interested in what they think and say.

Young people, well, pretty much all people, also are looking for approval and validation, so it is important to offer that as much as possible, and it is possible to offer approval and validation even in situations where there is a conflict of opinions and values.

Trust me, MTV wants you to be disconnected. If you felt comfortable, they would ditch the show.

Why do you want to be close to your children? So you can "feel good" or because you have a deep down calling from God to love and invest in your children? Our motivation is HUGE!

After motivation, then we have to ask ourselves, how does God want us to bring up our children? What is "nurture and admonition?"

May God give you clarity as you seek Him! God desires you help and guide you. But there is no step by step guide to help you connect to your children. It takes time and loads of investment.